Assistive Devoce Lemon Law
Phone 1-888-331-6422

Assistive Device State Lemon Laws

Find your state Assistive Device lemon law:

Utah

Utah Code Annotated 78 - 2 - 802

Summary of the Law:

Who & What is covered:

Utah's statute covers any consumer who acquires by purchase or lease an assistive device costing over $1,000 that is still under warranty.

Consumer Remedies:

Under the statute, if an assistive device is in for repair 3 or more times for the same defect or out of service 30 days or more within the warranty period the consumer must offer to transfer the device to the manufacturer. The consumer then has the option of getting a replacement device or a refund of the price paid.

Resale of "lemon" assistive devices:

Any assistive device which is repurchased by the manufacturer because it is a "lemon" under this statute cannot be resold in Utah without full disclosure to the consumer.

Details of the Law:

Devices Covered: devices costing more than $1,000

Persons Covered: buyer or lessee

Period Covered: 1 year

Disclosure Requirements: not applicable

Required Consumer Notice: not applicable

Repair Requirements: 3 repair attempts on same defect or 30 days out of service

Affirmative Defenses: abuse, neglect, modification

Replace or refund: replace or refund minus usage setoff

Other reimbursement: collateral costs and, if in a buy back, pay point of sale finance charges

Other remedies: not applicable

Informal dispute resolution: not applicable

Resale of Lemon: only with full written disclosure

Links to State Info:
Center for Assistive Technology
Utah Association for the Deaf
Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind

 

Free Case Review and Lemon Law Representation

Lemon Law Blawg

Follow us on facebookFollow us on twitterBurdge Law YouTube ChannelFeedburner FeedEmail UsLinkedIn